English Chinese (Traditional)
Verification of the Monero binary files should be done prior to extracting, installing, or using the Monero software. This is the only way to ensure that you are using the official Monero binary. If you receive a fake binary (eg. phishing, MITM, etc.), following this guide will protect you from being tricked into using it.
To protect the integrity of the binaries the Monero team provides a cryptographically signed list of all the [SHA256](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SHA-2) hashes. If your downloaded binary has been tampered with it will be produce a [different hash](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_verification) than the one in the file.
This is a beginners guide for the Windows operating system and will make use of GUIs almost exclusively. It will walk you through the process of installing the required software, importing the signing key, downloading the necessary files, and finally verifying that your binary is authentic.
## Table of Contents
### [1. Gpg4win Installer](#1-using-gpg4win-installer)
- [1.1. Getting Gpg4win Installer](#11-getting-gpg4win-installer)
+ [1.1.1. Download Gpg4win](#111-download-gpg4win)
+ [1.1.2. Launch Gpg4win](#112-launch-gpg4win)
- [1.2. Use Gpg4win Installer](#12-use-gpg4win-installer)
### [2. Import Signing Key](#2-monero-signing-key)
- [2.1. Download Signing Key](#21-download-signing-key)
- [2.2. Initialize Kleopatra](#22-initialize-kleopatra)
+ [2.2.1. Import Signing Key](#221-import-signing-key)
+ [2.2.2. Create Key Pair](#222-create-key-pair)
- [2.3. Verify Signing Key](#23-verify-signing-key)
### [3. Verify Hash File](#3-hash-file-verification)
- [3.1. Download Hash File](#31-download-hash-file)
- [3.2. Verify Hash File](#32-verify-hash-file)
### [4. Verify Binary File](#4-binary-file-verification)
- [4.1. Download Binary](#41-download-binary)
- [4.2. Verify Binary](#42-verify-binary)
## 1. Using Gpg4win Installer
This section will cover installing the cryptography software. Windows does not come with the tools required to verify your binary. To install these tools you can use the Gpg4win installer.
### 1.1. Getting Gpg4win Installer
#### 1.1.1. Download Gpg4win
In a web browser, go to [gpg4win.org](https://gpg4win.org) and download the installer by clicking the green button.
![gpg4win download button](/img/resources/user-guides/en/verify_binary_windows_beginner/verify-win_gpg4win-site-downloadbutton.png)
You will be taken to a donation page. If you do not wish to donate select `$0`, then you will be able to click `Download`.
![gpg4win site donation](/img/resources/user-guides/en/verify_binary_windows_beginner/verify-win_gpg4win-site-donation.png)
Click `Save File`.
![gpg4win site save file](/img/resources/user-guides/en/verify_binary_windows_beginner/verify-win_gpg4win-site-savefile.png)
Choose a download location, click `Save`.
![gpg4win site download location](/img/resources/user-guides/en/verify_binary_windows_beginner/verify-win_gpg4win-site-savefile-location.png)
#### 1.1.2. Launch Gpg4win
When the download is finished, open the containing folder.
![gpg4win site open folder](/img/resources/user-guides/en/verify_binary_windows_beginner/verify-win_gpg4win-site-savefile-openfolder.png)